Square Quilt

I’d never worked with charm squares* before this.  But I had a pile of charm squares from a while ago. I think maybe there were 36 squares in the pack? Designed by Barbara Brackman for Moda, they have a sort of William Morris-ish Liberty print kind of print on them. 36 squares that are 5’x5′ doesn’t make much of anything, so the charm squares sat around until I got the itch to piece and quilt something uncomplicated.

charm squares, William Morris, Barbara BrackmanWe decided to unevenly off set the squares in solid greys and white.  A sort of modern setting for a more traditional print, but we like the mix.

Schnap, the co-quilter, wants you to know that she participated in the composition of this quilt.  She is an expert at unevenly off setting things.

* What are charm squares? They’re 5 inch by 5 inch squares of fabric, sold usually in a pile that coordinates with each other.  I used to call things like these ‘swatches’ but I guess ‘charm squares’ sounds more, well….charming.

About piecedgoods

I like making things, creativity, creative people, food, fabric, glass, painting, reading, my community, my family, my friends and my dogs.
This entry was posted in Quilts, Schnap and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Square Quilt

  1. Baye says:

    Love this! I’d love to know the name of the quilt pattern. I’m not good at figuring these things out myself.

  2. Jen says:

    oh my!!!!! My heart nearly stopped when i saw your quilt!! I’m in the midst of completing a quilt I’m making for my friend and the concept of neutral on the William Morris fabric are EXTREMELY similar to yours!!! For a while i was thinking “what’s my quilt doing on google? and i don’t even have a dog!!”….hahaha…
    Your quilt is B-U-ti-ful!! 😉

Leave a comment